Alan Henderson is the King of Cadwell!

Alan Henderson was a man on a mission at Cadwell Park. Photo: Jon Elsey

As it usually does, Cadwell Park provided a dramatic weekend of action as the BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship rolled into town for rounds 6, 7 and 8.

The hero of the Lincolnshire track from last year, James Blake-Baldwin, showed he could still dominate the circuit, by setting the quickest lap in qualifying, with title rival Alan Henderson the next best.

Blake-Baldwin went onto win the first group A race in a very tight affair from Henderson, with the up to then championship leader JJ Clements third. The B group race produced a win for the returning Milton Keynes racer Callum Edwards who comfortably saw off the challenge from Richard Collins with Kevin Brent third.

The second Group A race returned the same three drivers on the podium, but this time it was Alan Henderson with the victory laurels, with JJ Clements moving up to second and James Blake-Baldwin demoted to third.

Group A regular Simon Goddard suffered a DNF in the first race so he had to join the B group for the second outing. Goddard proved too good for the rest of the field winning by almost nineteen seconds. Lewis Field was second across the line but was battled all the way by Jake Simpson.

Alan Henderson won again in the final A group race, with JJ Clements second and Charlie Charman equalling his best finish of the season by taking third. Unfortunately, the B group race was red flagged twice after separate incidents involving Matt Tasker, Bruce Carter, Christian Young, Henry Lawson, Michael Lawson, Rick Collins and Kevin Brent. Despite some severe damage to several of the cars, fortunately, none of the drivers were seriously injured. Because of circuit damage and the impending curfew the race could not be re-started.

Jon Elsey’s detailed report on what proved to be a very busy weekend will be available shortly.

For all the race results go to CADWELL RESULTS

Next Race

The 2019 calendar will be announced shortly.

Last Race

Donington Park 20th - 21st Oct 2018

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Will Blackwell-Chambers 2300 2040
2 Samuel Smith 2008 2002
3 Brian Trott 2228 1984