The Croft Original

James Blake-Baldwin has previous experience of the Croft podium. Photo: Jon Elsey

While this weekend is the first BRSCC visit to Croft since 2008, the Mazda MX-5 Championship has been a regular at the North Yorkshire circuit for the last three seasons.

Last year’s triple-header was dominated by Tom Roche, who won all three races. Indeed, the only driver from the 2014 roster who made the podium last May was current championship leader, James Blake-Baldwin, who came home third in the second race behind Roche and Alexander Preston.

Blake-Baldwin is in top form, which has seen him return eight wins from the last nine races. Alan Henderson was the only fly in James’ ointment, winning at Cadwell Park in June. However, Henderson’s consistency has kept him in touch in the points standings and he is currently just sixteen points shy of Blake-Baldwin’s total.

Make no mistake - this weekend is a huge one for Henderson.  If he is to maintain his title challenge, the County Durham based driver has to make home advantage and support pay on his local track.

Alan won’t be the only driver hoping that circuit familiarity can give him an edge. AK Automotive team-mate Jake Simpson also hails from Durham. Although exiled in London Adam Craig is from Stockton, Stephen Craggs will travel from Ripon, and the shortest journey is for father and son pairing Roy and William Stephenson, who have a 15-minute trip from Richmond.

Another native of the North East will make his MX-5 debut at Croft on Saturday. Newcastle-upon-Tyne's Will Picken is another from the AK Automotive stable and will race car #90. Will has previous race experience in the BRSCC's Formula Jedi Championship.

Making a return to the MX-5 Championship is Shefford’s Carl Andrew, son of Steven Andrew, who has raced both Mk1s and Mk3s this season. Carl's last outing in the championship was at Croft in September 2012.

Saturday’s weather looks like it could bring rain during the morning practice and qualifying sessions. Sunday looks brighter with sun predicted for most of the day with highs of 17 degrees. You can view a detailed forecast at CROFT WEATHER FORECAST    

Saturday will feature free practice, qualifying and round 12, with rounds 13 and 14 scheduled for Sunday.

More information about the Croft meeting can be found at CROFT RACE WEEKEND

The full entry list is;

3              Alan Henderson                                                              

6              James Blake-Baldwin                                                     

8              Michael Fisk                                                      

12           Andrew Caird                                                                                                                   

15           Harry Deane                                                      

18           Clive Powles                                                      

22           Chris Hart                                                           

23           Martin Tolley                                                    

26           Paul Yeomans    

29           Adam Craig                                               

31           Sam Smith                                                          

34           Matthew Tasker                                                              

37           James Harris                                                      

41           Kevin Brent                                                       

42           Charlie Charman                                                              

44           Paul Bishop                                                        

46           Simon Goddard   

47           Stephen Craggs                                                            

48           Simon Baldwin                                                 

55           Graham Colby                                                  

61           Carl Andrew                                                         

62           William /Roy Stephenson                                                       

68           Paul Tucker                                                        

75           Bruce Carter / Guy Carter                                                            

76           Brian Chandler                                                 

88           Johnathan (JJ) Clements                                                              

90           Will Picken

101         Simon Woods                                                   

105         Roger Chesneau                                                              

111         Danny Green                                                    

188         Jake Simpson                                                    

285         Darron Lewis      

Next Race

Donington Park - 1st - 2nd Aug 2020

Last Race

There have been no races in 2020 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2020 yet.