Roche returns!

Can Tom Roche end Blake-Baldwin's winning streak? Photo: Jon Elsey

An old face returns to the MX-5 Championship this weekend as the teams and drivers descend on the Rockingham Motor Speedway for rounds fourteen and fifteen of the 2014 season.

James Blake-Baldwin has handled every challenge that has been placed before him in this year’s BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship, but he has another obstacle to negotiate before he claims the 2014 title and that is to beat four times champion Tom Roche, who has put in a late entry for this weekend’s double-header at the Corby track.

James is sure to relish the task and won’t be duly overawed as he got the better of Tom several times last season as the pair went head-to-head for the Mk1 title, which Roche eventually won to secure his fourth title. Although Tom will be a big threat to the leading drivers in both races, he is obviously too late to catch them in the points table and James will know that if results go his way he could leave Rockingham on Sunday evening as the ‘champion elect’. He is currently on a run of seven straight wins so will be determined not to let the Welsh Mazda maestro end his serene progress.

As he has been doing all season, Alan Henderson will try everything in his powers to delay James’ coronation, as will Brian Chandler, JJ Clements, Charlie Charman and Simon Baldwin, who broke the Blake-Baldwin/Henderson/Chandler triumvirate by taking P2 in the second race at Croft.

Making his Championship debut this weekend is Twickenham’s Simon Drinkall, who has previous race experience in Toyota MR2s with the Track Attack Race Club. So a very warm welcome to Simon who will race car number 100.

If testing goes well at Rockingham tomorrow, we can expect yet another new driver to make his MX-5 debut. Blendini Motorsport will run Trev Keates, who has previously campaigned a Ginetta, and is looking at doing a full MX-5 campaign next year.    

The Met Office are forecasting light showers on Saturday but mild and dry weather on Sunday. You can see a detailed forecast at ROCKINGHAM WEATHER

More information about the meeting can be found at ROCKINGHAM RACE WEEKEND

The full entry list is;

1              Tom Roche                                                        

3              Alan Henderson                                                              

4              David Henderson                                                            

5              Richard Collins                                                  

6              James Blake-Baldwin                                                     

8              Michael Fisk

11           Trevor Keates                                                   

13           Scott Leach                                                        

18           Clive Powles                                                      

22           Chris Hart                                                           

23           Martin Tolley                                                    

31           Sam Smith                                                          

34           Matthew Tasker                                                              

37           James Harris                                                      

41           Kevin Brent                                                       

42           Charlie Charman                                                              

43           Will Blackwell-Chambers                                                              

44           Paul Bishop                                                        

45           Gary Hufford                                                    

46           Simon Goddard                                               

48           Simon Baldwin                                                 

50           Christian Young                                                

55           Graham Colby                                                  

61           Lewis Field                                                         

62           William Stephenson                                                       

63           Oliver Allwood                                                 

68           Paul Tucker                                                        

75           Bruce Carter / Guy Carter                                                            

82           Russell Lindsay                                                 

88           Johnathan ‘JJ’ Clements                                                              

90           Roy Stephenson                                                              

100         Simon Drinkall                                                  

111         Danny Green                                                    

118         Scott Ferguson                                                 

142         Tony Liversidge                                                

147         Ben Tuck                                                             

285         Darron Lewis                      

Next Race

Donington Park - 1st - 2nd Aug 2020

Last Race

There have been no races in 2020 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2020 yet.