Donington decider!

James Blake-Baldwin could be the new champion come Sunday evening. Photo: Jon Elsey

The winner of the 2014 BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship will be decided this weekend at Donington Park.....

Title favourite James Blake-Baldwin’s holds a twenty-four point advantage over Alan Henderson, so while it is certainly James’ title his to lose; it is not cut and dried just yet especially as the weekend offers an opportunity of bountiful points as it is a triple-header. The two group system also offers Alan further hope of reeling James in. If some misfortune where to befall the Farnham racer and he found himself relegated to the second tier his point scoring chances would be severely diminished.  All will be known come 6pm on Sunday!

It is a great turn out for the final meeting with 49 cars entered. There are a few new drivers making their championship debuts this weekend, so a very warm welcome to Barry Ward, Cameron Thompson, Ahmed Binkhanen, Paul Brown and Russ Lindsay. Russ will be making a belated debut as having qualified at Rockingham he had to abort and return home as his daughter had broken her arm! Not new, but returning after 4 years is Richard Breland, although he is certainly no stranger to the MX-5 paddock as he is the boss of Blink Motorsport, who have run cars in the championship for many seasons. A very late entry is Piers Chandler who last raced in the championship at the last race of the 2013 season. Welcome back!

The full entry, split into qualifying groups, is:

Group 1

5              Richard Collins  

6              James Blake-Baldwin     

10           Michael Lawson               

15           Harry Deane      

22           Chris Hart           

23           Martin Tolley    

37           James Harris      

40           Ian Prescott       

41           Kevin Brent       

43           Will Blackwell-Chambers              

44           Paul Bishop        

48           Simon Baldwin 

55           Graham Colby  

58           Dale Whiteman

75           Guy Carter         

77           John Cockburn-Evans    

88           Johnathan ‘JJ’ Clements               

90           Daniel Irving      

100         Russell Lindsay 

101         Simon Woods   

111         Danny Green    

142         Tony Liversidge

147         Ben Tuck             

188         Jake Simpson    

285         Darron Lewis


Group 2

3              Alan Henderson              

4              David Henderson            

7              Jason Greatrex

8              Michael Fisk      

11           Barry Ward        

12           Andrew Caird   

18           Clive Powles      

21           Henry Lawson  

29           Adam Craig        

31           Sam Smith          

34           Matthew Tasker              

42           Charlie Charman              

46           Simon Goddard               

61           Lewis Field         

63           Oliver Allwood 

66           Piers Chandler  

68           Paul Tucker        

72           Joshua Jackson

75           Bruce Carter      

78           Ahmed Binkhanen         

81           Richard Breland               

82           Simon Drinkall  

96           Cameron Thompson      

112         Paul Brown        

118         Scott Ferguson 

The weather forecast for the weekend is mainly dry and mild but there is a chance of heavy showers on Saturday morning and light showers on Sunday afternoon. You can view the forecast at DONINGTON WEATHER

The timetable, Final Instructions and entrylist are available at DONINGTON DECIDER

Next Race

Donington Park - 1st - 2nd Aug 2020

Last Race

There have been no races in 2020 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2020 yet.