James Blake-Baldwin is the 2014 Champion!

James Blake-Baldwin is the 2014 champion. Photo: Jon Elsey

As expected James Blake-Baldwin completed his season’s quest with the minimum of fuss at Donington Park over the weekend, taking two wins to confirm him as the 2014 BRSCC Mazda MX-5 champion.....

As he has done all season, Alan Henderson fought him every step of the way, finishing second to James in two races before concluding the year on a high, winning the last race of the campaign. Thus Alan deservedly finished as the Championship runner-up, just twenty-six points adrift of James’ tally. JJ Clements claimed the last podium position in the final standings, a just reward for his amazing consistency throughout the nineteen-race contest.

Victory in the first B group race went the way of Darron Lewis, who won comfortably from Andrew Caird and Chris Hart. Martin Tolley joined James Blake-Baldwin and Alan Henderson to complete the first three in the first A group race.

The second B group podium comprised of Simon Baldwin, Ben Short and Oliver Allwood, while Will Blackwell-Chambers joined the usual two suspects after the second A group outing.

The final B group race was keenly contested with Cardiff’s Jason Greatrex fighting off a strong challenge from Martin Tolley, who enjoyed a mixed weekend after a DNF in the second tour. James Harris was also in the lead battle and took P3.

The last race of what has been a long and successful 2014 season was won by Alan Henderson, with Blackwell-Chambers again making the top three, this time ahead of the new champion.

You can see the final points table for the season at http://www.brsccmazda.com/standings

For all the results, qualifying times and lap analysis go to http://www.tsl-timing.com/brscc/2014/144231xch.pdf

James will be presented with his trophy at the Mazda championship awards dinner on Saturday 22nd November at the Park Inn Birmingham West hotel. For ticket information please contact Mandy Andrew on 07973 665176 or email mandy@brscc.co.uk

Next Race

Donington Park - 1st - 2nd Aug 2020

Last Race

There have been no races in 2020 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2020 yet.