Chandler in command at Cadwell

Three wins for Brian Chandler cut the points gap to leader Simon Baldwin (9). Photo: Jon Elsey

It was great to see so many Mk1s at Cadwell Park for what was Drew Furlong’s last BRSCC meeting before he moves onto pastures new. Drew and the co-ordination team have put a lot of energy into building up the championship over the last three seasons and the results of their labour were there for all to see with 54 Mk1s entered for the triple-header.

Suffolk’s Brian Chandler was undoubtedly the star of the show with a hat-trick of race wins to blow the title wide open. Chandler emerged from a tight first encounter with leader Simon Baldwin, winning by just over a second with Sam Smith third. The first ‘B’ group race went the way of William Stephenson who just beat Kevin Dengate to the line. Carl Andrew took the final podium place and earned promotion to the A group along with Matt Tasker and David Henderson.

The second A group race was a similar story with Chandler and Baldwin occupying the first two berths, but this time Ben Tuck demoted Sam Smith to fourth. Lewis Field was the victor in the B race winning comfortably from Adam Craig and Simon Drinkall.

Race three produced what could be a very significant moment when championship leader Simon Baldwin only managed to complete two laps after a ‘racing incident’ with Chandler forced him to retire. This left Chandler to complete the full house, although Darron Lewis pushed him hard claiming P2 in the process. Sam Smith rounded off a satisfactory weekend with another podium finish.  In the final B group outing Fleet’s Brian Trott claimed his maiden MX-5 win beating Graham Colby and the impressive debutant Tim Penton to the line.

Brian Chandler now moves into second place in the points table, just fourteen points behind Baldwin, so the pressure will be on when they re-convene at Oulton Park for rounds 12 & 13.

All the results, qualifying times and lap analysis can be viewed at Cadwell results

It was a great send-off for Drew Furlong who ended Saturday evening tied to a tree in the paddock with drivers dousing him with water pistols! Brian Chandler added to his honours for the weekend when he received the Driver of the Day Award for cutting Drew free!

There are quite a few interesting pictures from the 'tree hugging' incident which Drew is doing all he can to censor but we are sure a couple will find a way into Jon Elsey's in-depth meeting report which will be available shortly.

Next Race

The 2019 calendar will be announced shortly.

Last Race

Donington Park 20th - 21st Oct 2018

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Will Blackwell-Chambers 2300 2040
2 Samuel Smith 2008 2002
3 Brian Trott 2228 1984