Tuck named RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year

Tuck saw off the competition to claim the illustrious prize - Photo: MSA

Mazda MX-5 driver Ben Tuck was named the RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year 2015 after a five-way shootout at iZone Driver Performance Centre, Silverstone.

The accolade is awarded each year to a member of the MSA Academy’s AASE programme, a three-year course delivered in conjunction with Loughborough College. The five finalists this year were: Tuck, 18 from Bedfordshire; Bridge Carey, 19 from Maidstone; Ryan Harper-Ellam, 18 from Brackley; Jake Taylor, 18 from Retford; and Liam Wilson, 18 from Southam.

The day consisted of seven sessions including physical and mental assessments, a simulation evaluation (including eye tracking and on board analysis), plus interviews with members of the judging panel.

The panel comprised MSA Performance Director Robert Reid, Racing Steps Foundation’s Derek Walters, Autosport’s Scott Mitchell, Loughborough College’s Anna Kemp and MSA Coach James Wozencroft. Tuck impressed the judges with his confident and precise approach and plans for future progression.

Tuck, who will receive a trophy and £1,000 at the MSA Night of Champions in January, said: “It was an absolutely fantastic experience and I’m hugely honoured to have been chosen as the winner after a tough day at iZone. I can’t thank the MSA Academy enough for nominating me, iZone driver performance centre for the amazing day using their facilities and the Racing Steps Foundation for supporting this award.”

From everyone at the BRSCC and the Mazda MX-5 Championship, we say congratulations to Ben on his achievement. Well done!

MSA/ Scott Woodwiss

Next Race

The 2019 calendar will be announced shortly.

Last Race

Donington Park 20th - 21st Oct 2018

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Will Blackwell-Chambers 2300 2040
2 Samuel Smith 2008 2002
3 Brian Trott 2228 1984