2017 champion Will Blackwell-Chambers collects his trophy from BRSCC Mazda co-ordinator Mandy Andrew - Photo: Jon Elsey

2017’s sensational MX-5 Championship race season came to a close with the champions taking to the stage to receive their trophies.

The glamorous end-of-season dinner dance at the Radisson Blu Hotel close to Donington Park was a chance for drivers, family and friends to dress up and let their hair down.

The coveted silverware glinted in the glowing green lights as Will Blackwell-Chambers took the opportunity to take the microphone from coordinator Mandy Andrew. He said a few words in front of the 150-strong audience, charting how competitive it had been and how he was looking forward to returning in 2018 to defend his Mk1 title.

Oliver Allwood (represented on the night by AB Motorsport's Ali Bray) and Joshua Jackson received their trophies for second and third place, Martin Tolley picked up the much-contested Masters trophy and Charlie Burge was named Rookie of the Year. 

As the night wore on, dancing, drinking, and discussing plans for next year swiftly took over from the formalities - and the class of 2018 will have a lot to live up to.

A full gallery of images from the evening can be found HERE:

Next Race

The 2019 calendar will be announced shortly.

Last Race

Donington Park 20th - 21st Oct 2018

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Will Blackwell-Chambers 2300 2040
2 Samuel Smith 2008 2002
3 Brian Trott 2228 1984