Season gets underway at the Rock!

Tom Roche lived up to the hype at the Rock! Photo: AJB Photographic

The 2013 season got underway last weekend at the Rockingham Motor Speedway in Northamptonshire.

Championship favourite Tom Roche justified his billing with two wins at Rockingham. Donna Kelly reports from the season opener.....

The new BRSCC Mazda MX-5 championship got off to positive start with a total of 36 entries resulting in the grid being spilt into two groups.  A red flag at just less than 12 minutes to go caused a 5-minute delay to qualifying whilst a helicopter landed in the paddock to medevac Fiesta competitor David Elsom. Tom Roche took pole position with a time of 1:47:510, followed by Brett Smith in second position and Ed Gay in third, placing them in the 1A race. The top three drivers in 1B were Johnathan “JJ” Clements with 1:49:907, followed by Chris Hart in second and James Atherton in third.

First out on track was the 1B group. Paul Tucker (68) got off to a good start and took the early lead in the first lap before Chris Hart (22) overtook to pull out a lead of 3.287. In the final few laps, JJ Clements (88) managed to pull out a fantastic lead of 9.905 to Hart (22) to take his first ever win. Chris Hart (22) finished second whilst Paul Tucker (68) came in third.  

In the 1A group it was MX-5 champion Tom Roche (1) that led the race from the start to eventually take the chequered flag with a 6.965 lead over Brett Smith (39) in second and Ed Gay (14) in third. In the mid-field, there was a great battle for 4th, 5th and 6th between Leach (13), Charman (42) and Goddard (46) with Scott Leach eventually pulling out a gap of 3.100 to take fourth place ahead of Charlie Charman in fifth.

It was a comfortable win for Simon Baldwin (48) in the BRSCC MX-5 2B race, leading the pack from the start to take the chequered flag at Rockingham. A great battle between Coombs & Jackson for second place finished with Jackson taking second, before Coombs (36) and O’Connor (117) battled it out for third position, right up to the finish line were Dan O’Connor managed to take third position. Matteo  Cianfoni (35) was given a 5-second penalty for exceeding track limits whilst Chris Evans (33) retired on lap 7.

In race 2A, Tom Roche got off to a great start with Brett Smith initially plying some pressure on the race leader, before Roche responded by setting the fastest lap, pulling out a 3.655 lead to take the chequered flag. Brett Smith (39) finished in second place, with Ed Gay (14) completing the podium line-up.  Chris Hart (22) was given a 5 second penalty for exceeding track limits.

Next Race

Brands Hatch - 24th - 25th Oct 2020

Last Race

Silverstone National 12th - 13th Sep 2020

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Oliver Allwood 682 590
2 Joe Wiggin 590 590
3 Mike Comber 678 584