All set for Cadwell Park!

With split grids JJ Clements will be confident of coming home with silverware this weekend. Photo:

The BRSCC Mazda MX5 Championship is back in action at Cadwell Park this coming weekend for rounds 6, 7 & 8.....

The BRSCC Mazda MX5 Championship is back in action at Cadwell Park this coming weekend for rounds 6, 7 & 8 of the 2013 championship.

35 cars will be in action at the Lincolnshire circuit, with them split into two groups based on their qualifying time, giving spectators six action packed races over the two days. Last time out at Croft, Mazda guru Tom Roche maintained his dominance of the marque with a hat-trick of victories. Although the Cardiff racer is clearly the class of the field, there are plenty of talented drivers throughout the grid with many involved in their own private duels.

Alex Preston and Ed Gay certainly come into that category with the pair of them closely matched in all three Croft races. However, it was Preston who emerged with the great points haul with two seconds and a third. Gay was the runner-up in the first outing, and repeated the feat in the second tour, but he fell foul of the Clerk of the Course, who imposed a 30-second penalty for exceeding track limits, which dropped Gay down to twelfth. It was much to the Gay’s credit that he regained his composure to claim the third step of the podium in the final race of the meeting. Ed now lies fourth in the points standings, behind Roche, and the tied pair of Preston and Brett Smith, who showed great consistency at Croft.

Making his first appearance of the season at the Yorkshire circuit was James Blake-Baldwin and he demonstrated that he has the ability to mix it with the leaders by taking an impressive third in the second race, so he will be out to improve on that again. Joining the fray for the first time this season are Jiri Horalek, Dan Rogers and Paul Yeomans.

The full list of entries is;

1              Tom Roche                                                           

2              James Blake-Baldwin                                                          

5              Richard Collins                                                     

6              James Atherton                                                   

11           Jiri Horalek                                                           

13           Scott Leach                                                          

14           Ed Gay                                                   

15           Alex Roberts                                                        

17           William Phillips                                                    

18           Clive Powles                                                         

22           Chris Hart                                                             

26           Paul Yeomans                                                      

31           Sam Smith                                                             

32           Alexander Preston                                                             

38           John Kinghorn                                                     

39           Brett Smith                                                           

40           Ian Prescott                                                          

42           Charlie Charman                                                 

43           Will Blackwell-Chambers                                                   

44           Paul Bishop                                                          

46           Simon Goddard                                                   

47           Stephen Craggs                                                   

48           Simon Baldwin                                                     

55           Jon Hughes                                                           

66           John Greaney                                                      

68           Paul Tucker                                                          

69           Matt Robinson                                                     

70           Daniel Rogers                                                      

72           Joshua Jackson                                                    

74           Sam Gendy                                                           

88           Johnathan (JJ) Clements                                                     

90           Alan Henderson                                                  

101         Simon Woods                                                      

117         Dan O’Connor                                                      

142         Tony Liversidge    

Next Race

Cadwell Park - 1st - 2nd Aug 2020

Last Race

There have been no races in 2020 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2020 yet.