All eyes turn to Anglesey

Simon Baldwin will be heading to Anglesey in confident mood. Photo:

The BRSCC Mazda MX5 Championship enters the second stage of the season this coming weekend at Anglesey with a triple header.

Prior to the Cadwell Park trio of races on 22/23rd June it looked like the battle for the title would be a processional affair with Cardiff’s Tom Roche on a serene path to yet another Mazda crown.

However, five races further on, the destination of the title looks a lot less clear. Although Roche still heads the points table, James Blake-Baldwin has closed the points gap to just 20, when the dropped scores are taken into account. Blake-Baldwin has won four of those five races to really put the pressure on Roche. His last two victories were at Snetterton two weeks ago, where he beat Tom into second in each race.

Rest assured, Tom and James are not the only two contenders. Brett Smith lies third in the points table, just another 10 points adrift of Blake-Baldwin. The Northampton driver has shown great consistency this season, accruing five podium finishes. If Brett can just make the step-up to ‘race winner’ he will have a real chance of taking the title.

Another two drivers who have shown consistency and improvement as the season has progressed are Simon Baldwin and Alan Henderson. To popular acclaim, Baldwin won the ‘Driver of the Meeting’ at Snetterton after cutting a swathe through the traffic to take the final podium position in round 10. It won’t be long before Henderson brakes his podium duck, but he is a regular finisher at the front end of the pack, and his points tally places him in sixth overall.

We will also welcome to Anglesey five new drivers to the championship, namely Matt Tasker, Alastair Topley, Dale Whiteman, Brian Chandler and Jake Simpson. 

The latest entry list is:

1              Tom Roche

2              James Blake-Baldwin

5              Richard Collins

6              James Atherton

7              Wayne Le Montais

11            Jiri Horalek

14            Ed Gay

18            Clive Powles

22            Chris Hart

26            Paul Yeomans

32            Alexander Preston

34            Matthew Tasker

38            John Kinghorn

39            Brett Smith

42            Charlie Charman

43            Will Blackwell-Chambers

44            Paul Bishop

46            Simon Goddard

47            Stephen Craggs

48            Simon Baldwin

49            Alastair Topley

58            Dale Whiteman

63            Rhys Jenkins

68            Paul Tucker

70            Daniel Rogers

76            Brian Chandler

77            John Cockburn-Evans

88            Johnathan (JJ) Clements

90            Alan Henderson

117          Dan OConnor

123          Callum Edwards

188          Jake Simpson

Next Race

Pembrey - 20th - 21st Apr 2019

Last Race

Brands Hatch 23rd - 24th Mar 2019

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Ben Short 298 298
2 Brian Trott 292 292
3 Joe Wiggin 286 286