Game, Set & Match to Roche

Tom Roche on the way to securing the title at Donington Park. Photo: Jon Elsey

Two wins from two for Tom Roche at Donington Park finally put the seal on the BRSCC Mazda MX5 Championship title battle, with the Cardiff racer now having an unassailable lead.

Brett Smith showed great consistency to be the best of the rest in both races and subsequently moved up to second in the points standings. Erstwhile title contender James Blake-Baldwin had a weekend to forget. An early spin in race 1A put him towards the back of the field, but he cut a swathe through the opposition to secure third spot. Things went from bad to worse in the second tour when Blake-Baldwin succumbed to engine issues on lap six. There was some consolation at the end of the day for the Farnham driver, when he was declared the ‘Driver of the Event’ for his spirited drive in race 1.

Simon Goddard returned his best result of the season claiming the final podium position in race 2 following a tremendous battle with Blink Motorsport team-mate Charlie Charman.

The promotion/demotion system for the A and B races always means there is a great variety of drivers claiming podium finishes in the B races. Callum Edwards just beat Matt Robinson to the line in the first B race with Sam Smith holding off Richard Collins for third. In the second outing, Wayne Le Montais handled the damp conditions well to finish a comfortable seven seconds ahead of Adam Craig, with Gary Hufford a further twelve seconds adrift.

A full report on the Donington double-header, including some fantastic images, will be uploaded shortly. In the meantime you can see the official results at DONINGTON RESULTS

The Championship now moves onto Silverstone for the final two rounds of the year, which will take place on the Silverstone International circuit on 19/20th October.

Next Race

The 2019 calendar will be announced shortly.

Last Race

Donington Park 20th - 21st Oct 2018

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Will Blackwell-Chambers 2300 2040
2 Samuel Smith 2008 2002
3 Brian Trott 2228 1984