And so to Silverstone..........

Brett Smith has been consistent all season. Photo: Jon Elsey

And so after six and a half months and seventeen rounds the competitors in the BRSCC Mazda MX5 Championship assemble for the final time this year for the double-header here at Silverstone that will conclude the season....

As expected, Tom Roche secured the title at Donington Park a month ago with back-to-back wins giving the Cardiff racer an unassailable lead. So the focus this weekend is on the fight for the remaining podium positions and who can finish the season off in style on the International circuit.

Brett Smith has been a consistent performer all season, which was further evidenced by two second places finishes behind Roche at Donington. The points he accrued moved him up to second in the points standings and the Wellingborough based driver will be very confident of holding off Alan Henderson and the other challengers to maintain that position.  

A big welcome in the paddock this weekend to three new drivers who are making their championship debuts – Michael Fisk, Richard Worthington & James Harris, and a welcome back to experienced MX5 practioner Piers Chandler, who joins the grid for the first time this season.

The current entry list is as follows;

1              Tom Roche

5              Richard Collins

8              Michael Fisk

9              Jade Edwards

10           Josh Van Hooke

11           Jiri Horalek

17           William Phillips

18           Clive Powles

21           Piers Chandler

22           Chris Hart

23           Martin Tolley

26           Paul Yeomans

31           Sam Smith

32           Alexander Preston

34           Matthew Tasker

37           Richard Worthington

39           Brett Smith

40           Ian Prescott

41           Kevin Brent

42           Charlie Charman

43           Will Blackwell-Chambers

44           Paul Bishop

45           Gary Hufford

46           Simon Goddard

47           Stephen Craggs

58           Dale Whiteman

68           Paul Tucker

69           Matt Robinson

70           Daniel Rogers

72           Joshua Jackson

75           Nick Le Doyen

88           Johnathan (JJ) Clements

90           Alan Henderson

105        Roger Chesneau

117         Dan O’Connor

123         Callum Edwards

137         James Harris

188         Jake Simpson


Next Race

The 2019 calendar will be announced shortly.

Last Race

Donington Park 20th - 21st Oct 2018

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Will Blackwell-Chambers 2300 2040
2 Samuel Smith 2008 2002
3 Brian Trott 2228 1984