All set for Silverstone!

We are expecting a strong challenge from Alan Henderson this season. Photo: Jon Elsey

The 2014 BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship starts where it left off last season – on the Silverstone International circuit, and with over forty MK1’s entered we are certainly in for four spectacular races!

The double-header presents a great opportunity for several drivers, including 2013 champion Tom Roche, to put down an early marker for a title bid! Alan Henderson would definitely come into that category, the County Durham based driver having come third behind Tom and Brett Smith in the final points table. Farnham’s James Blake-Baldwin will also be very confident of mixing it with the front-runners – he enjoyed a purple patch in the middle of last season winning several races, which really put the pressure on Roche to up his game.

Simon Goddard finished fifth overall last year and he will be hoping he can pick-up a little of Tom Roche’s magic now that he has moved to the Welshman’s Blendini team. Goddard’s former BLINK teammate, Charlie Charman, also impressed last year and he will fancy his chances of challenging at the top. Will Blackwell-Chambers and Jonathan Clements are both young drivers who were top-ten finishers and they will have gained a lot of experience and confidence from the progress they made.

Two drivers with a lot of previous experience of racing Mazdas are Jason and Kris Greatrex, who return to the championship this season after a couple of years with other clubs. The Cardiff based brothers will be hoping the more competitive nature of racing in the BRSCC Mk1 championship will spur them onto greater glory!!

In addition to the many old hands who are returning for another campaign, we also have nine drivers who are all completely new to the championship – so a very warm welcome to them all. Amongst their number is David Staples (#2), whose day job is flying Hercules transport aircraft for the RAF!

The confirmed entry list as of Friday 28th March is:

2              David Staples                                                   

3              Alan Henderson                                                              

5              Richard Collins                                                

6              James Blake-Baldwin                                                   

7              Jason Greatrex                                                

8              Michael Fisk                                                     

11           Jiri Horalek                                                        

12           Andrew Caird                                                   

18           Clive Powles                                                     

22           Chris Hart                                                          

23           Martin Tolley                                                   

24           David Hart                                                         

29           Adam Craig                                                       

31           Sam Smith                                                         

34           Matthew Tasker                                                              

37           James Harris                                                     

41           Kevin Brent                                                        

42           Charlie Charman                                                            

43           Will Blackwell-Chambers                                                           

44           Paul Bishop                                                       

45           Gary Hufford                                                    

46           Simon Goddard                                                               

48           Simon Baldwin                                                

55           Graham Colby                                                 

58           Dale Whiteman                                                               

61           Lewis Field                                                         

62           William Stephenson                                                     

63           Oliver Allwood                                                

68           Paul Tucker                                                       

75           Bruce Carter                                                      

77           John Cockburn-Evans                                                   

88           Johnathan 'JJ' Clements                                                             

93           Kris Greatrex                                                    

101         Simon Woods                                                  

105         Roger Chesneau                                                              

107         Nick Holmes                                                     

111         Danny Green                                                    

142         Tony Liversidge                                                               

188         Jake Simpson                                                   

285         Darron Lewis                     

Next Race

Donington Park - 1st - 2nd Aug 2020

Last Race

There have been no races in 2020 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2020 yet.